• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cable Question

BigNuge

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
I have a question for the electricians out there. I came upon a bunch of large cable following a job wrapping up at work. I have been trying to figure out what this stuff costs new (per foot) to buy. Trying to figure out what I should do with it.

b004a1fa518f94f7c4256766d10d4295.jpg

24dbea051a9aded4d43be7d06d36a8a3.jpg

2ef5df42306d7fb1a8d3aab686be9703.jpg

0c45f29f1edc8366e54ac5ed3f0c7bfb.jpg

3603a25c494ae448b90c288900960eff.jpg

So, anyway...if anyone out there is an electrician by trade let me know what this stuff is worth (per foot). I’m having the hardest time getting it figured out online.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I can’t read the jacket markings very well, I see “portable power cable” maybe?

Definitely AC power cable with the white jacket on the second conductor. The four green ground are cool. 75C max temp rating? Does it say 4/0 ground? Maybe 2000V max?

How much new, unused cable on a reel do you have?

You could make a badass welder cord but I wouldn’t expect a commercial contractor to pay anything for it and I wouldn’t expect a residential contractor to have a use for it. Cool though.

Another site, same price...
https://www.awcwire.com/part.aspx?partname=g-4/0-4c

Even though it has 8 wires (qty 4 conductors and qty 4 grounds) it's called "4 conductor cable" as explained here...
https://www.awcwire.com/productspec.aspx?id=portable-cord-type-ggc-g

From the above site:
What is Type G Cable?