• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Piston slap questions

MoFo

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Memorial Lifetime Member
2000 XJ, 4.0L, 120,000 miles Everything stock...

I'm a little rusty at diagnosing piston slap. Not to date myself, but the only engine where I have heard it was the 292 cuin 6 in my 1955 Chevy Sedan Delivery... Gee I wish I still had that truck.

I have been chasing this noise for a couple of months that I thought was a sticky lifter. I fed it Lucas oil additive, Marvel Mystery Oil and some other stuff too. The sound has gradually gotten worse, not better. Then after reading several posts here, I thought it could be a cracked flex plate or loose TC bolt. I verified the TC bolts and bellhousing to engine bolts are all tight, and there are no cracks in the flex plate.

Symptoms:
I get a rather loud knocking noise when the engine is cold and under load. It is hardly noticible if the engine is idling cold without any load. I went over the engine this morning with a stethascope while a friend held the throttle at 1200 RPM in drive, with his feet on the brakes. This is what I observed:
  • Timing chain and water pump were quiet
  • Noise was most evident about 2" to 3" below the head gasket on the passenger side
  • The only noise on the driver side of the head was the valve and injector clatter. I can't get the probe into the drivers side below the manifold.
  • After about 3 minutes of running (30*F ambient), the thermostat housing was 140*F (with IR gun) the noise was barely noticable under load.
  • In 5 minutes the noise was completly undectable

Is this a typical set of symptoms for piston slap?

Would a piston slap be louder on the drivers side, since that is the side where the piston is traveling down after ignition?