• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dash switches oxidating - how to restore?

bchulett

NAXJA Member #999
This is second set of OE switches I've had in my XJ since new... Now these are turning white as well.

Anyone know a way to restore these so they a black again?

I'm not interested in spray painting them like the ones I see on eBay.

Thanks

Don't know about the switches, but on fading black trim I've heard to hit it with a heat gun, or a product by Mothers called "Back to Black".

not sure if you wanna try it but I have really good luck with seafoam. yes seafoam.

I use it on all my faded plastics, you will need to apply it a few times as it soaks in but it works pretty good.

I'm no scientist but plastic is made from petroleum and seafoam is pure petroleum distillate it just made sense.

Don't know about the switches, but on fading black trim I've heard to hit it with a heat gun, or a product by Mothers called "Back to Black".

I bought some Mothers B2B and it just rolled off the switch.. wouldn't absorb. The bottle indicates not to use on hard or shinny plastics. Wasted $10.00.

The oxidation or reaction is from UV light.. I swapped in new switches when they were still available - these are doing the same thing. I was told by a plastics engineer its the release agent used during the molding process - they used too much and eventually turns the plastic white.

I'll try my Makita heat gun to see if that changes the color... I guess as long as I don't melt the damn thing in the process.

Thanks

not sure if you wanna try it but I have really good luck with seafoam. yes seafoam.

I use it on all my faded plastics, you will need to apply it a few times as it soaks in but it works pretty good.