• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CPS Relocation Kit...

L4V

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all,

Noob here, 2nd post. Super forum, I must say. 'Been reading it for weeks.
The rig: '92 XJ, 4.0L, 5 spd, 4WD, dead stock, super clean, etc.
'Bought from my neighbor 8 weeks ago...my first Jeep and love it.
'Got a Q on this whole CPS R & R deal.
My CPS seems to be working fine, but crawling under, around, over, and through on a rainy/cold night to change this 'mutha doesn't sound like a good time to me.
'Just bought an all metal genuine Modine 2 row (NAPA- $179) to replace the stock (and working) Veleo 2 row w/plastic tanks. 'Figured that since I'll be in there, I would R & R the harmonic damper as well - it's just barely noticeably wiggly.
Did my due diligent searching for info relative to my Q - no find...so here I am.
'Been thinking of going with CPS relocation kit as a way to avoid having to slave around w/the stock CPS location.
I'm willing to pay the bucks for the relocation kit to avoid said dread.
Anyone do this mod based on the same motive?
What y'all think of this?
Oh yeah, thought I might even pre-empt the hassle of changing the CPS on that rainy/cold night by creating an access hole from inside - making a larger cover for the hole and securing it with Dzus fasteners.
I'm one of those who likes to simplify matters.
Thanks for any feedback, etc.
Merry Christmas! (and don't be afraid to say it)

A couple things that can be done to simplify CPS changing...

Get 2-3' worth of extensions - best if you can do it in one piece, like I did. Check around, and look at those "oddball" tool shops while you're about it.