• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Guidance - Axle width advice

CLSegraves

NAXJA Forum User
I could use some guidance as to whether or not narrowing an axle for my 2001 XJ if the right thing to do. This weekend I picked up a D60 out of a 05 Super Duty and my gut says narrow it, but I want input from people who know more than me.

I've been running 35s on the trussed HP D30 in my XJ for the past 3 years and it's performed very well. However, I'm in the final parts collection phase (odds and ends... already have the engine/adapters/wiring/etc.) of a LS1 swap and I want to move up to 37s or 38s. So I've outgrown the D30....

My rear axle is a trussed XJ D44 with 30 spline axles so I'm considering continuing to run it for a little while (or not... that's up in the air).

The listed values I find on the net are:

XJ D30 - WMS to WMS: 60 5/8"
SD D60 - WMS to WMS: 72"

I did a quick and dirty comparison of the D30 vs D60 width vs. pinion location. It looks like if I cut 8" off the passenger (long) side tube, that will both bring the axle down to 64" and get the pinion yoke into the D30/factory location. I currently run 3.5" backspaced 9.5" wheels. I have to buy new wheels anyways, so if I move to a 4.5" backspaced wheel I would be almost the same width as I am now. I plan to shave the center section to pick up/regain 1"-1.5" of ground clearance. I'm not concerned with the difficulty or cost of narrowing the axle. I'll be removing the inner Cs regardless in order to set the pinion/caster angle and it looks like I can have the axle shaft re-splined for $75-$100.