• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ Newbie - a couple of questions

azee

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all,

I just picked up my first XJ...its an '89 Limited, and I absolutely LOVE it. Being a Jeep newbie, I have a couple of questions that I have not been able to track down answers to:

1- There is no overhead console, however, just above the rear view mirror there appears to be some sort of sensor. I can see resistors and a small board, and the cover appears to be missing. Can someone tell me what this is/what is does?

2- Did any of the '89 Limited come with ABS? If so, how do I tell if its there? Should I look for some sort of ABS fuse or computer?

3- Kind of annoying, but are there lights which light up the HVAC control area? I'm assuming that there is, and its just a burnt out bulb, but its frustrating not being able to see what its doing at night!

4- I'm not a big fan of the "gold kit" look, but my XJ is black with the gold pinstripping, moulding, emblems, and wheels. Over the course of its life, the Jeep has lost several pieces of moulding. Is it fairly easy to remove all of it? Does it look better without? I'm referring to the lower moulding with the gold stripe in it.

5- Similar to question #4, but is there any way to easily/cleanly remove the gold pinstripping? The paint is pretty faded, so I don't really want to be left with "clean" spots, although I do plan on polishing and waxing it soon.

6- The area below the clock appears to have a large blank space.....were there any options on other versions that I could snag from a wrecking yard?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Alan

1. Sounds like keyless entry sensor.

2.Yes and you do not want it the ABS but you do want the u-joints! The easy way is the front axle. There will be tone rings ont eh shafts and a sensor on the caliper.