• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AW4 transmission rebuild or swap

Alwaysdutch

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys,

I am new to the NAXJA forum and hope to get some help. I am an XJ owner since earlier this year. i wanted one for a long time and finally got an orange 2001 4x2.

Two months ago we heard squeeling from the transmission when downshifting and once we parked it on the driveway, it got stuck in a gear and has been sitting still since that day.

I consider myself a pretty handy guy (swapped some motors and transmissions, etc), so I pulled the trans pan and found some pretty big pieces of metal and interesting enough gear oil rather than auto trans fluid. I am not sure if that has to do with the problem, but I am thinking to pull the transmission and get another one.

Here comes my question; is it safe to buy a used transmission with about 150,000 miles on it, or shall I tryo to rebuild it first? If I do the last one, I find only rebuild kits that has the rings and such, but given the pieces of metal, I wonder if larger parts need replacement.

What would be the best option here? I found many transmissions for about $500 and if I would replace solenoids and such, I might have a good transmissions again. This XJ belongs on the road and I have big plans for this Jeep.

Many thanks and I hope to be posting pics of this Jeep soon!