• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Which Fire Extinguisher and where to mount in a 97+

Red97XJ

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 97, so room is TIGHT between door and seat.

Also, what kind do you guys recommend and what size and why? I am new to all this. I have a 4 door.

I searched and didn't find any RECENT threads. One had it mounted down to left of drivers feet as a foot rest.... sounded cool but no pics. Any other ideas?

Thanks alot!
Jason

P.S. I think I am going to ask for this for Christmas, so I really wanna keep the cost down around the $50 mark if possible.

Red97XJ said:
I have a 97, so room is TIGHT between door and seat.

Also, what kind do you guys recommend and what size and why? I am new to all this. I have a 4 door.

I searched and didn't find any RECENT threads. One had it mounted down to left of drivers feet as a foot rest.... sounded cool but no pics. Any other ideas?

Thanks alot!
Jason

P.S. I think I am going to ask for this for Christmas, so I really wanna keep the cost down around the $50 mark if possible.
Which extinguisher? Biggest you can get... and better make that two! I'm not kidding.
At this point I carry a long and skinny extinguisher between the driver's seat and the door (when you remove the plastic trim you gain a lot of room). I have another extinguisher easily accessible in the cargo area. Why do you ask? The first one by the door is so that I can get at an extinguisher without having to dig for it, second is cause the first is ussually not enough. Last year coming back from Rubicon a buddy of mine had a small fire in the engine bay. It took three of those skinny extinguishers to put it out but we have saved the vehicle (IIRC the final score was: couple melted wires and a fuel line that needed replacing: and the fuel line was the original culprit).