• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Gear Brands

gcam

NAXJA Forum User
For an aftermarket set of ring and pinion gears, can anyone make any suggestions. I've heard good things about Yukon. I'm curious about U.S. Gear, as the prices from Rocky Road are right in my price range.

Thanks,
Geoff

the way i look at replacement gears is this... Dana/Spicer gears run 200K miles in OEM applications all the time... i have no evidence that aftermarket are inferior however i will always spend my $$ on a proven trackrecord... do not buy gears (or anything else) bases solely on $$...

Weren't the Dana's kiler expensive? I used to work in a shop that sold Dana products, and it was cheaper for the techs there to buy an aftermarket set from another shop at retail than a Dana set wholesale.

And yes, I've heard poor things about Rocky Road for customer service, but the prices for their gears and carriers are excellent. I just don't know anyting about the reputation of U.S. Gear.

Geoff

Buy the Yukons, and spend the $$ you saved over Dana gears on having a pro install them.

Expensive doesn't always mean best quality. The gears will only be as good as the install job.

it depends if your doing the install or not. I was told that Dana's are the easiest to install, they are more precise and need less fine tuning then the aftermarket

gcam said:
Weren't the Dana's kiler expensive? I used to work in a shop that sold Dana products, and it was cheaper for the techs there to buy an aftermarket set from another shop at retail than a Dana set wholesale.

Actually, the D/S weren't really all that bad. They even came with a basic install kit, so I didn't have to buy one and saved that expense. I got them from www.4x4groupbuy.com (ask for Jason).