• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Engine Rebuild Help!

CUengineer

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
1989 Limited XJ. I6 4.0
The long story:
I bought the jeep last year for a hundred bucks from a roommate who lacked the patience to try and fix her. A mechanic friend of mine got her running but the engine sounded very tired. I spent the next 9 months in between classes pulling the engine, rebuilding and putting her back following the FSM. I have resorted to the forum because I have two weeks left at my place in Boulder.(I graduated!!!) De-glazing the cylinders, new piston rings, and a new piston where it was apparent that the broken rings had worn away the ring grooves to the point where the top and second compression rings where worn almost into one(A complete photo documentary is available on Facebook but I figured there is nothing you guys haven't already seen).
The shorter story: