• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ 5.3 swap (build)

blistovmhz

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all. I've been waffling on an engine upgrade for a few years, but wanted to wait till my 4.0L failed to get me home one day. Well, that day still hasn't come, but my roomies lady folded his civic in half, and with the insurance money he bought himself a foxbody mustang. First ride and I knew it was time to dump a 5.3L into my Jeep. I completely forgot how good it feels to not be the slowest on the road.

So, that said, I picked up a 5.3L long block and 4l60e trans out of an 05 Sierra S1500.

I'm hoping someone can steer me right here anywhere I'm about to waste a bunch of time/money.

The plan:

Drivetrain:
5.3L bolted to 4l60e transmission. Will be using Novak motor mounts and headers (on principal, I didn't want to go with Novak, but knowing the headers fit on the first try is a pretty big selling point. Up here in Canada we don't have a lot of performance shops where I could just walk in and measure headers. Store employees and managers get super offended if you ask any questions about their products.).
The 4l60e trans will be mated up to a hybrid NP231j, using Advance Adapters #50-0435 - http://www.advanceadapters.com/prod...d--to-thejeep-np231-transfer-caseadapter-kit/
This kit comes with a 27spline input shaft, but I talked to them about removing it, and they say they'll give me the kit, minus the input shaft for about $300. The kit comes with a 2 piece, 6 bolt 4l60e to 5 bolt NP231j adapter with a GM 40t reluctor and VSS, and a bunch of other little stuff.