• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rebuild kits?

BurnettDow13

NAXJA Forum User
My current Renix 4.0 has unknown miles, iffy oil pressure and a slight knock when I take off so I’m looking at rebuild kits for the(hopefully decent) block in my parts Jeep. My questions are what rebuild kits have y’all used, and with it being a Renix can I put a better cam in it without running into issues with the fuel injection? I’m completely new to these 4.0s and jeeps in general so any help, tips, or tricks are welcome and appreciated. Thanks.

If that knocking is under the floor, check the trans mount and whether the exhaust is banging on the crossmember. Checked compression and verify the oil pressure with a mechanical gauge before deciding if it really needs a rebuild.

It sounds like it’s coming from the right front side of the engine bay. Maybe 4-5 knocks when I take of from a stop and sometimes it does it and sometimes it doesn’t. Does it hot or cold too.

Check here (view is from behind the xfercase looking forward). If the trans or motor mounts are bad, the exhaust will sag and start rattling against the cross member.

14923d1268760710-exhaust-hitting-cross-member-jeep-exhaust-hanger.jpg

It sounds like it’s coming from the right front side of the engine bay. Maybe 4-5 knocks when I take of from a stop and sometimes it does it and sometimes it doesn’t. Does it hot or cold too.

I'd check the motor mounts, as suggested above. Also, how many miles? What is the oil pressure? Does the idiot light come on, or do you have gauges?

BurnettDow13,

Some tips on engine building:
1. Use ductile iron or stainless steel (if available) compression rings on the pistons. They don't break.
2. I only use forged aluminum pistons and not any cast pistons.