• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How to tilt axle back..Help please, the snow is coming.

Bjorn86

NAXJA Forum User
First off I've got a 99 XJ, 4.0, 4x4, 5.5" RE long arm lift.
I'm new to Jeeps, so this may be something simple.

I was just replacing the upper control arm bushings and CAN NOT get the axle to tilt back far enough to get the bolt hole on the arm and bolt hole on the bushing (axle) to line up enough to get the bolt in.

Is there a trick to this? I've tried jacking on the front of the diff and the coil seat, which tilts it back some, but not enough. I could adjust my arm out a bit, but that won't that throw off my caster?

Tips, suggestions, anything? Snow is coming tonight and this weekend, so I need to get this done this afternoon.

Thanks!

Ratchet strap to the frame from the control arm mount. A big pipe wrench and a jack will work too.

Thanks, Ill give that a shot. Don't know if it matters, but the vehicle is sitting on the ground, only one upper control arm is currently off, I didn't want to take both off at the same time. Do I need to get the front end up off the ground, or can this be done as it sits?

rachet straps and one time i got the jack just right (with the strap on) and it jacked into place really easily. (another time i broke the strap doing that)

i hooked onto the axle outer C on top to rotate back and hooked to frame on other end..

dont use little weak cheapo straps