• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2.5l XJ performance

unclemonte

NAXJA Forum User
Can anything be done to improve performance of the 2.5 ? This is a 96 XJ and its stock. Im brand new at this so pardon my ignorance. Can it be replaced with a 4.0 ?

unclemonte said:
Can anything be done to improve performance of the 2.5 ? This is a 96 XJ and its stock. Im brand new at this so pardon my ignorance. Can it be replaced with a 4.0 ?
Yes it can be replaced by a 4.0. Anything is possible given enough money and time :)D). I have also heard more than once though, that depending on availability of XJ's in your area, you might come out ahead to just sell the one you have and find one with the components and parts you want.
For performance mods to the 2.5 though, similar things that are done to the 4.0 are also done to the 2.5 with success:
Larger throttle body with spacer (4.0 TB swap is popular)
Better breathing cold air intake with high flow filter
Headers with a larger freer-flowing exhaust and cat
Upgraded ignition components (including 8mm or higher ignition wires & high-quality plugs)
Replacing the belt-driven fan with an electric will reduce some drag on the engine and apparently give higher horses at high rpm's
Advancing the timing slightly

More people will undoubtedly chime in here with more info, but this is what I have gathered over time. Its apparently good for about 25-30 more horses...

I agree with Beej. The little 2.5 can perform better with bolt ons. However you're going to be wanting a 4.0 sooner or later, especially if you lift and install bigger tires.