• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

angle grinder says no cut-off wheels??

Fred85

NAXJA Forum User
I'm completely new to angle grinders and tools of the such, but i just acquired a hitachi 4" angle grinder (model #g 12sr2) and it states in the manual not to use cut off wheels on it, why??

i thought people use cutoff wheels on their grinders all the time......

Pay attention to the speed ratings, wear safety glasses, and keep important body parts out of the line of fire just in case the wheel breaks.

I think it largely depends upon the centre type - most cutoff wheels have a "flat centre," while grinding wheels usually have a "depressed centre."

Granted, I tend to use depressed centre grinding wheels to cut metal anyhow, so I don't see a problem - just a wider kerf, and takes a bit more time.

5-90

just got done cutting a leafspring itet out because bolt was rusted in bushing sleave with a 4.5 inch grinder from harbor freight, worked great!

I've never had any problem with using cutoff wheels in angle grinders, except that some grinders have stepped washers and nuts which will not tighten fully on a thin wheel, so you may have to turn the nut upside down, or make some other accommodation, and you must also watch out if the grinder is designed for offset-centered wheels, that the cutoff wheel doesn't interfere with the guards. It is also possible with a cutoff wheel for the nut to become insanely tight on what is left of the wheel, and to be very difficult to get off. Some grinders have pathetic little wrenches that will break when you do this.

Resist the temptation to use it without a guard. And do wear all the appropriate gear, because a cutoff wheel can fly apart in ways that regular grinding wheels generally do not.