• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Serpentine belt / ps pump whine...

Creighton

NAXJA Forum User
god knows its been talked about i'm sure...

Just got a jeep (2000 Cherokee Sport XJ) and ive searched thoroughly this site for something similar.

I've been a import builder/tuner for some years now (hondas) so i'm pretty comfortable around motors. What has me worried is I used to own a 1986 Jeep Comanchee 2wd truck (first vehicle back in 96) and that thing went through 3 ps pumps and 3 clutches (hehe, i dogged that clutch)... but are teh jeep powersteering pumps inherently whiney? I just bought this vehicle w/ 86k miles from a dealership and ive double checked everything all fluids, belts, etc etc and they seem to have done their job before selling the vehicle. But i may be peranoid and used to the very not loud 4cyl honda motors... and I know the 6cyl's make more noise.

I just took off 3 bolts on the ps housing (2 on top and 1 cramped to the left underside) and then loosened the main bolt holding the tensioner on under the ps pump. I then turned the bolt on the left that appears to pull the tensioner pully up/down to tighten or loosen. I loosened the serpentine belt just a tad to see if it was the cause of the whine in the ps pump. Didnt change anything... are the jeep ps pumps just natually kinda whiney?

thats a long writeup for my first and for such a basic post. =]

btw hello and thanks,
Creighton

Heh, ya I know they shouldn't =]

Ya, 100% certain it's the pump just not sure how whiney they are ya know... oh well. Take it to some place and have them take a listen.

Thanks.