• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

OEM+ (or "Super Stock") XJ build questions

maalox

NAXJA Forum User
Now that I've got all of the maintenance and repair items taken care of on my XJ, I'm planning some upgrades. I have historically built all of my vehicles as I felt they should have come from the factory, and I want to do the same with my XJ. This means subtle, functional upgrades that work without a bunch of hassle. I prefer upgrading using factory parts from other vehicles if at all possible, to save on complexity and cost, and maintain availability of replacement wear parts. I've got my plans for armor and bumpers covered, lighting stuff is just about done already, the only thing that remains is suspension and drivetrain. That said, I am new to 4WD, and solid axles, so there is a bit of a learning curve, please bear with me.

Here's what I'm working with:

89 XJ Limited 4.0L AW4. Non-disco HP D30 up front, NP242, D35 rear. This truck originally had ABS, which I ditched and replaced with '96 XJ non-ABS booster, lines, and hoses. It's currently on a 2" BB(front spacers and rear shackles) with ZJ Canyon wheels and 30x9.5" BFG ATs. It's also got polyurethane bushings in the control arms and leaf eyes.

My use of the truck does not currently include a ton of wheeling. It's clean and rust-free, and I have no intention of bashing it off of rocks and trees anytime soon. So the plan is to build a truck that is capable both on- and off-road, and in inclement weather(snow). It needs to be able to handle medium-duty off-roading(fishing/camping/hunting/skiing trips) and be seamless enough on-road that my old lady can drive it without an instruction manual or fear of breaking something due to improper use.