• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ 16" Wheel / 31" Tires - Best Balance of On/Off Road Perfromance?

MiWiAu

NAXJA Forum User
TL/DR: If I went with E load range tires for my XJ, how much would I compromise off-road traction and on-road ride quality to gain sidewall durability vs going with a Standard/P load range? Is it worth the tradeoff?

Hey all,
I know tire questions are never-ending, and I have more of them. I’m new to the Jeep/off-road scene, so I don’t have a background in off-road other than some m/c trail riding, but I have been trying to research and these are the questions I’m still left with.

Vehicle Background
I have a 98 XJ, and I’m looking to upgrade to 31” tires to fit a set of 16x7 Jeep Icon wheels. It looks like my main options are a 265/70R16 (my strong preference due to the extra width) or a 245/75R16.

My intent is to build this thing primarily as an overlanding vehicle and be able to eat up some highway miles on the way to some more scenic trails. I’m in SE Wisconsin, and not sure of many (any?) trail options that are local to me, so travel will be required. I may want to do some more moderate stuff at the off-road parks, but I’m looking to make it an adequate all-around performer, not specialized for any single type of off-road. It is definitely a project vehicle and NOT my primary mode of transportation, so that affords me some flexibility, but ultimately, I want a good balance of on/off road performance.

The questions…