• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Muffler vs. No Muffler sounds

bigalpha

Cat went bad, blew the guts into the muffler. Now, it rattles like crazy. It drives me crazy.

I was thinking of cutting the pipe between the cat and muffler off to stop the rattling from muffler.

Would this be just as annoying as having the rattling?

What year? OBDII vehicles (1996+) will know if the cat is working. Are you subject to emissions testing? My '92's cat is hollow, but the can is still on the car. I have a Flowmaster on it, and it sounds like a pizza truck. But, I live in upstate PA, and our emission test amounts to a visual inspection, and a gas cap test. There are those who don't condone removing pollution control devices, but I don't drive it much, as I'm in the midst of restoring it. Our other three XJ's are all 'legal', as they are daily drivers. As far as the rattling, that would annoy me to no end. What I've found is that the littli rubber block on the tranny crossmember will go bad, the one where the first hanger on the exhaust system hangs from. It can't be sourced aftermarket, and the dealer wants a king's ransom for it. I'd start there and see if that's your problem.

That sounds like it would be pretty annoying. The no muffler sound isn't the annoying but it is loud, especially going from the stock muffler. I went from a flowmaster 40 series (pretty loud) and its a tad louder with the windows open and a lot louder with the windows closed(muffler vs. no muffler).

Also it doesn't sound that bad but I don't really remember what a stock exhaust sounds like anymore.

I would say get rid of the stock exhaust/cat and buy an aftermarket one.

Chris

Cat went bad, blew the guts into the muffler. Now, it rattles like crazy. It drives me crazy.