• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

01 XJ misfire can't figure it out!

Drews01xj

NAXJA Forum User
Hello my name is Andrew and i am new to the NAXJA forum.

I have searched through many post on this forum and google with no luck. (3 months of dealing with this)

2001 Jeep cherokee 4.0 with the auto trans 4x4

I keep getting a misfire code for cylinder 2&5 mostly happens above 3,000rpm. once it throws the check engine light it kills injector pulse to the injectors (2&5) weird thing is i can kill the engine then restart and it will not misfire and run perfectly until taken above 3000 rpm then it will throw the code again and kill the injectors (2&5)

List of things i have done.

New spark plugs (champion)
New Coil
New Crank sensor OEM mopar
New Cam sensor OEM mopar
New Cam sensor body (The distributor like body sensor sits on)
Smoked test no Vacuum leaks
Exhaust back pressure test (passed)
New Ecu
New 4 pintle injectors
6 Brand new injector pigtails
Compression test (passed)
Sea foam/ Fuel system cleaner
Removed entire engine harness and checked for cuts brakes in any wires all is ok
Checked continuity between injectors and ecu pins
New intake air temp sensor
Checked all sensors to verify they are working via snap on scanner (tps,Map etc)

Someone please help im loosing my mind on this one!!

Today i checked battery alt and charging system all checked out ok.

Not to sure where to go from here maybe faulty ecu off the shelf?