• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Fabrication

XJ618

NAXJA Forum User
ok i am completely new at fabrication, im talking no idea, i think its pretty nuts though and the search just isnt specific enough. so help me out. i know people use metal that is 3/8"? i think, for a good durability/weight ratio, and i know everything is welded together. my question is what do you use for the actual face of say a bumper? im guessing some sort of thick steel sheet, but what do you use to bend it, or do you cut the specific peices and weld all 90* angles?? does anyone have any plans (like from acad) they could post just to see how you would draw up something like this? I know a lot of you are really into ths so i would appreciate any advice or words of wisdom i can get. thanks

most people use 3/16 - 1/4

i only use 3/8 for key items that need a whole lot of strength....ie: wristed arms

3/8" steel would be extremely heavy for a bumper. 1/4" would be indestructable still and 50% lighter. I like to use 1/4" where I might actually hit the bumper on a ruglar basis and then just somthing lighter like 3/16" for the rest of the bumper. I personally don't want 100 lbs of steel hanging off the end of my XJ. It's always a balance. Many bumpers out there like TrailReady's bumper only uses 1/8" and they say it's "bullet proof". I wouldn't go any lighter than 3/16 and 1/4 being truely bullet proof.

Strength comes from form more than material thickness!Mines got everything from .120" wall to 3/8".It took a week to form fit the radius of the front grill!
Front Bumper Pics

XJ618 said: