• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Some real FUN about to be had XJ with ZJ parts

Da XJ nut

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
:viking:
I have a 97 XJ 4 door 2wd at the moment and I was given a rolled over 97 ZJ 4x4. both 4.0 auto trans. The XJ is AW4 and the ZJ is 42RE i know with the NP242. Question is....can I use the transfer case adapter from the 42RE on a AW4 so I can put my 242 under my XJ and am going to use the axles from the ZJ also since they're already built up with 3.73 gears, lockers, and upgraded shafts. don't know who did it but I'm grateful. I have lots of experience building, fabricating and have full shop/tools and welders at my disposal. Going to weld spring perches to the tops of the D35 rear axle and going to lift it 4.5- 5 inches to clear 33's may have to trim fenders but not scared. Any advice out there about output shaft swap vs. cutting it off to length for conversion.

Thanks everyone who read this :exclamati

The answer is no to almost everything you asked about doing. There is no interchangeability between the AW4 and the 42rle. You will also need to rebuild the AW4 to install the correct tailshaft.

I just need to replace the output shaft, trans has only 20k on it and shifts great. I use the vehicle as a daily driver at the moment. I know I can use the 242 transfer case and axles because I have both driveshafts from the ZJ also.
I had read in an earlier post that someone said you could cut down the shaft instead of swapping it. I did mention that both were 97's and both outputs are 23 spline. Thanks for the input