• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

bleeding the brakes....

blackdoutxj

NAXJA Forum User
just want to know how ya do it because i have never done it before and need to do it 2morrow!!!

You can either vacuum bleed (preferred) or have a "two-man" bleed (don't need much special equipment.)

Order to bleed brakes - you do it from the farthest wheel in. Right Rear/Left Rear/Right Front/Left Front in that order!

You will need a box wrench that fits the bleed nipples - should be 1/4" or 5/16" You'll want a snug fit - if it's loose, you'll round off your bleed nipples. Also, if they haven't been "cracked" for a while (if ever!) you'll want to wet them down with PB Blaster.

Also, get some clear vinyl tubing that fits snugly over the bleed nipple - you'll want it to observe the fluid as it exits. Ideally, you'll also want a "bleed jar" (which can be made from any clear jar in a pinch) - the tubing goes to a nipple in the top, and the bottom of the nipple has another bit of hose that extends toward the bottom of the jar. Put enough clean brake fluid into the jar to cover the end of the hose - should be about 1/4" under fluid so you can't suck up air. A vacuum kit will have one, as well as clear vinyl tubing and a number of rubber adapters that will fit over various bleed nipples.

Put the wrench on the nipple hex, and test to make sure you can loosen the nipple. Tighten the nipple (gently!) and put the hose on.