• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drive line vibrations from hell

mbarker9

NAXJA Forum User
Ok guys, Ive done everything I can think of. Started as a 99 4x4. Added 3.5 RE ultra ride. Then had to fix the death wobble with a new track bar. After that were awful, violent car bouncing vibrations. Went with 4 degree shims. Much better but still had vibrations from about 30+ mph. After that went with a H&T SYE and a front DS. This is still with the 4 degrees. Much better but still have vibrations at 30+. Measured the drive line at about 9 degrees of difference so I went with 8 degree shims this time. This moved the vibrations to about 56+ mph. With the worst being from 56-65 mph. Its still very annoying and not something I can just deal with. I am a lighting designer and carry 1-2k pounds of gear to shows. With the jeep loaded the vibrations sounds like the car is going to fall apart. Like a plane taking off after 55 mph.

We have 3 other lifted (no shims, no SYE, no vibrations) and 3 more non lifted XJs in the family and I work on all of them. Mine is the only one with this problem. Everyone says X is how to fix it and nothing solves the problem. Im about to just trash it and get a gas getter. Any Ideas out there. Im thinking a real SYE but could this be an axle or tranny problem. Anyone have anything smiler.
photo.php

photo.php

Have you had the tires balanced recently? Usually a driveshaft doesn't have enough force to do much other than vibrate and make noise. If you are bouncing, and given the specific speed I would suspect the tires, I had the same problem when a belt was seperating on one of my tires. A bent rim will also do the same thing. Try rotating the tires and see if the vibes move.