• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Gear Pattern Question

shapps13

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a newb at this reading a gear pattern stuff. I tried to take a good pic. of it but it doesn't show up well at all. Here goes. I am using used 4:11 spicers in a dana 35 and so far everything is in spec,bearing preload is 12 inlbs, backlash is .008 and the carrier has a slight press into the housing. I am using all new bearings. In the Yukon install instructions I downloaded it says to concentrate on the pattern on the coast side of used gears , so thats what I did and it looks real good,centered on the tooth face to flank and heel to toe. The drive side is not so nice, it is centered on the tooth face to flank, but is really more toward the toe of the ring gear than I think it should be. Should I just quit while I'm ahead and run it or should I try for a more uniform pattern between drive and coast side ? I know its difficult to say without seeing it but I just had to ask the experts here on NAXJA.
Thanks,
Bill

without seeing it.......

always concentrate on getting a good pattern from topland to root.

you want a hotdog shape or a "tennessee" shape centered.

don't worry so much about centering the pattern from heel to toe.

the only time I'd worry about what my pattern looked like from heel to toe is if it favored the heel too much.

if your camera has a zoom, try backing up a bit and zooming up. you'll increase the focal length, but we'll still be able to see the pattern

try again to post a pic.