• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Getting back in the Game

XJfreakHO

NAXJA Forum User
Alright so due to alot of financial and other issues I have neglected my favorite hobby (XJ's)
I sold my jeep, have been through 3-4 dd xj's since just flipping them to make a little coin, well Ive got a bit of cash saved up and am planning to either start from scratch or find someones project and add a few touches.

I would like to run 36's so I have no intention of keeping the stock axles, but after reading and researching I cannot honestly determine what to do with the d30, I am really trying to do the axles on a budget and I have no welding experience, couple friends are able but I hate being a mooch.

I found a XJ on 36's for pretty damn cheap, just waiting for more info, assuming hes running stock axles which I just don't want to do.

I will be looking for a XJ 44 for the rear in the days to come, would go 8.8 but I have heard a few bad things and figure why not run the direct swap.

If you have any advice feel free to PM me, if your local/helpful I will gladly exchange personal information and maybe plan a meet up to assist, Beer will be on me lol

Moral of this post:

I want to build an XJ on 36's
What is the best way to do this on a budget with limited fabrication ability?

Thanks NAXJA

Just Noticed I am no longer a member, didn't realize it had been that long, will have to get up to date asap... :(

Last edited:
I'm still a fab lightweight, but I learned a lot from buying someone else's (mostly) built rig and then slowly fixing their f-ups and my breakdowns over time. This way you can wheel right away. If I was starting from a stocker, it would take me forever to get it built up and it would drive me nuts not being able to hit the trails while it was on jackstands.