• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Front axle U-joints, Need replacing

BskisXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I think I need to replace my front axle U-joints. 91 Cherokee Laredo 4.0, Dana 30 front axle.

The front end has been making a rattle noise kind of on and off for a while. First it sounded like the noise was coming from the drivers' side only. Noise would quiet or go away at speeds about 30mph. Got underneath could not find anything loose, Front wheels didn't have any play in them. A couple of days ago the noise started coming from the passenger side. Got uderneath and found that the front-wheel axle U-joints had some play in them and raddled some to.

So I think this is the source of my front end noise. And I assume they need replacing. What do you think? I not a stranger to a wrench, but I am not a mechanic either.

Has anyone done such a repair? What is involved? Parts needed? Tools needed? Does the front axle need to come off?
I did some searching, but could not find anything in detail.

Help!

Last edited:
<grin> You need to search a little more, this is a pretty common maintenance item. </grin>

Having said that, for tools and stuff out of the ordinary, you'll need a 36mm socket for the axle nut, and a 12 point 13mm socket for the hub bolts. You may need an Allen wrench for the brake calipers, it varies a little. You'll also need 2 replacement cotter pins for the axle nut keeper, and I'd suggest a couple of sacrificial bolts for the hubs. And a couple of torque wrenches, one that goes to 175 ft./lbs. Oh yeah, you'll also need a u-joint press or a couple of big sockets and a sledge to replace the actual u-joint.