• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

99 XJ electrical fan issue

Scotts99XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Ok... I have a question.... I just purchased a 99 XJ about 4 days ago. Completely stock (for now). I am new at the whole XJ world and this forum. Question is: When I start the XJ warm or cold, A/C is off, the electric fan cycles on and off immediately and cycles constantly, is this normal?
Lately it has been in the 20's here and even starting it cold the fan starts cycling as soon as the motor kicks over.

No that is not normal. Has it been customized, or stock? If not you might check the fan relay, see if is sticking, going bad for starters.

You don't have the defrost on either, correct?

The defrost will kick it on and depending on ambient / under hood temps, it could create that cycle pattern..

It is completely stock. I have only had this XJ for a week or so. Defrost is off also. Starting it cold the E-fan starts cycling immediately.

If the Electric Fan was on steady I would suspect that the fan relay power contacts were welded closed, but that your fan cycling on and off may indicate a defect in your HVAC system. The PCM thinks you've called for AC or Defrost and has provided a ground to the control coil of the fan relay. If this is the case, you AC compressor clutch should have engaged.

Are you familiar with the AC Compressor in this vehicle? The reason I ask is, that you should look to see if the clutch has engaged while the fan is cycling on and off. If it is you would need the proper wiring diagrams to troubleshoot it.