• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need some help with a command trac 4x4

ssara18170

NAXJA Forum User
Hello Everyone, Today I looked at a 2000 cherokee sport. Looked to be in excellant mech and visual condition. Drove the car, felt great, tight. Then, I engaged the 4x4. Here is where I need some help from you expericenced cherokee owners. I am new to the jeep famliy. I'm used to hitting an electrc botton hand really not noticing a driving difference. When I engaged the 4x4 I noticed first a sqeaking noise / humming coming from the shift location. Also I was able to tell something was different,ie traction was noticeable. And then when I turned I heard the dreaded clicking sound.
The clicking sound only happened once on the first turn. From that point on I did not hear the click sound. The owner told me that the vehicle has not been driven much over the past year. (squekie rubber noise). So here is my question, is the command trac system a more bare bones / rough kind of setup? I had owned a 98 grand cherokee with quadra drive so, it was alway on.

I have command trac 4x4 in my 93 cherokee, and when I pull my shifter to 4H, I don't notice any difference. When you turn on dry, non slippery sufaces though it will chirp the tire a little. If it hasn't been driven that much maybe it needs new U-joints. When the U-joint goes you will hear a high pitched squeel at low speeds with the windows down. I would check the drive shafts for more than usual play, and the front axles. I would also have them jack up the front end and shift the tire from top to bottom to see if maybe you have a bad hub or ball joint.