• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need help identifying a vacuum port

Rumgod

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, newbie here working on my jeep, it's 2000 XJ, 4.0L, 4x4, 3.5" lift, auto 180,000 miles. I've had it about 3 months and and have gone thru just about all the usual things to create a good baseline, hoses, oils, ignition, fluids, etc.
I had been aggravated with my mileage, the last thing I did was replace the upstream O2 sensor( I left downstream as it was), cleaned MAP and IAC sensors and my city mileage went from 9-11mpg to ~14.5mpg and on a controlled test(full tank of gas) run on a 60mile highway run I went from 14mpg to 21mpg at 65mph on cruise control. I'm happy now.

I do have a question though, I'm a bit of a stickler about "everything in its place" and there is a bolt stuck in the intake manifold that doesn't seem to be OEM, I can't find any pics or references to this 'port' that someone apparently blocked, maybe not stock intake manifold?!.
Can anyone help or identify this? here's a pic I took a while ago.

Thanks! -Art :)

dq3SZfh.jpg

It's not used on my 2000!

The manifold and the port are stock, and that port is always plugged. The stock plugs disintegrate.

I have a '00 with cali emissions -- I don't think that is capped on mine -- don't know where it goes off the top of my head but I'll check tomorrow and report back

I have a '00 with cali emissions -- I don't think that is capped on mine -- don't know where it goes off the top of my head but I'll check tomorrow and report back