• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Transmission leak... I have searched

zeroforhire

NAXJA Forum User
1990 XJ stock
Auto

I am pretty sure it is just a seal of some sort that needs to be replaced. I am fairly new to fixing jeeps, but I really want to learn to take care of it myself. Here are a few pics:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/zeroforhire/3629516102/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/zeroforhire/3628703211/

I couldn't figure out how to embedd the photos into my post.

How would I go about fixing this? It is just leaking a little bit right now, but I don't want to lose the transmission over this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

its a 4 wheel drive.. I will go ahead and get the seals this week and take care of it. Any thing else I should know before ripping into this? Tips? Or is it really as easy as it sounds...

:)

Dex 3 it is.

Thanks a bunch.

I replaced the seal... it was a pain to get out. I took off the tail cone and had to basically take a dremel to the seal and cut it out chunk by chunk. After it was out, I replaced it, and put a line of RTV along the edge of the cone and bolted everything back together...

drove great for a week, but now it is leaking again. Should I replace the seal AGAIN? I can see that it is leaking at exactly the same place as before.... Is there anything else I should be doing?

Hey,