• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What is the best year XJ.....best bang for the buck.

geminiroq

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys,

I am a newb and this is my first post.

I have been wanting to buy an XJ for a good while now.

My question is....what is the best year (best bang for the buck) for an XJ that will be a all purpose weekend wheeler.

I want something that I can drive out to the trails and then drive back.

Either is stock form...or later...customized.

However, there are a couple of things that are appealing to me:

* Automatic
* V6
* Somewhat cushy....the girlfriend wants some creature comforts.

I appreciate any and all advice.

Thank you...

V6--not such a good idea. You could put a DECENT V6 into an XJ, I believe Advance Adapters and Novak both make adapters.

Engines
2.5L I4 carburated - 105 hp @ 5000 rpm, 132 ft lb torque @ 2800 rpm - used in 84-85 models

2.5L I4 TBI (fuel injected) - 117 hp @ 5000 rpm, 135 ftlb @ 3500 rpm - used in 86 and updated in 87-90 to 121hp

2.5L I4 MPI (multi-port injection) - 130 hp @ 5250 rpm, 139 ft lb @ 3250 rpm - used in 91-00

GM 2.8L V6 - 115 hp @ 4800 rpm, 145 ft lb @ 2400 rpm - used in 84-86

Renault 2.1L 4cyl. Turbo Diesel - 85 hp @ 3750 rpm, 132 ft lb @ 2750 rpm - used in 85-87

Italian VM 2.5L Turbo Diesel - 140 hp, 236 ft lb torque - used in overseas XJs

4.0L I6 EFI "Power Tech" - 177 hp @ 4750 rpm, 220 ft lb @ 4000 rpm - used 87-90

4.0L I6 MPI "Power Tech HO" (High Output) - 190 hp @ 4750 rpm, 220 ft lb @ 4,000 rpm - used in 91-95 and updated in 96-01 to 225 ft lb torque @ 3000 rpm (00-01 models use a distributorless ignition system)

ok cool...so it looks like the later years are the way to go for power and cush.

What trim levels are the best?

My girlfriend says here butt gets cold and wants heated seats.

Thank you...