• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

in a dark place.. please help

WickedOnE530

NAXJA Forum User
ok hey everyone im Rick. im kinda new to NAXJA, my brother has been on it a while and i have posted a few things here and there. basically i need some help and advice. i have a 98 xj 2dr 4.0l l6 4x4 with chrysler 8.25 rear, and dana 30 front. i have a 5.5" TNT long arm kit with slip yolk elem. i have recently ran into a "DEAD END" and im currently in a dark tunnel with no lighter. i want to put bigger tires on it, and right now it has only 25" tires on a 15" rim. yes it does look really funny. probebly seen me driving around san diego, oceanside, san clemente area. (Green jeep, small tires, tinted back windows, no front fender flares). anyways i was told i cant just put bigger tires on it because my braking system will slow up and take me longer to brake, my steering box will put all the pressure on my frame rail and it could break it, and that my tranny will blow up. when my brother and i installed the lift we did all the drilling and bolt on that was to do, however we have no welder and couldnt weld on the unibody stiffiners and the u bolt eleminators. he doesnt want me to take it offroading yet because he wants to be there for the trial run, and it is not completed yet. bottom line is i want to play with my toy. lol.