• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

new member ,upgrade obd1 to obd2

abusamra

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everybody
I'm new to NAXJA and new to XJ 4.l manual trans model 1995.238000km.
no modification at all. no playing in the steering at all. I was driving it with 160km per hour with one hand in my first trip back home with the a/c running and no over heating !! the air temperature was 48 c.

The only thing does not work is the check engine light !!! I'm not sure what is wrong with it?

I live in Egypt and the nearest repair shop for the
cherokee repair is 600km far from me !!

Would it be possible to upgrade the same engine from obd1 to obd2 without swap to another engine ?

So I can diagnose trouble better with scanner.I failed to get obd1 scanner
in my country.

I appreciate any input

abusamra

What year is your XJ? I didn't see that anywhere...

RENIX, OBD-I, and OBD-II all refer not to the engine itself, but to the electronic controls of the engine. So, it's possible to swap back and forth without having to swap the entire engine.

1987-1990 w/gasoline engine - considered RENIX. This is a pre-OBD control system, and these are the only years of the 242ci six that have an EGR valve (deleted for 1991-2001) and a knock sensor (deleted for 1991-2001.) The control system works very well; and, although the typical "code reader" won't work with it, the system can be mostly troubleshot with a decent DMM (Digital Multimeter.) It does not "store" or "throw" codes.

1991-1995 - OBD-I. Requires a Chrysler-specific OBD-I reader (each manufacturer had their own standard for OBD-I, or used someone else's.) Knock sensor and EGR valve deleted, significant changes to the cylinder head, intake manifold, and throttle body, and some sensors are different.