• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Swaybar Upgrade + couple other questions

mybrosride

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to Jeeps, and the forum, and looking for some help. I need to know if there is a swaybar upgrade for freeway stability for a Cherokee XJS? Its lifted 6 in.

Also wondering how to upgrade my ball joints, and needing to find a cheap "drop pit man arm" for my lift.

Not sure if I would need a traction bar or anything else steering related to upgrade....

thanks for your help in advance

A stock sway bar with extended links/disconnects ought to be plenty to stabilize an XJ. Some came with a rear sway bar as well though. What problems are you having?

Stock swaybar.

Use Spicer brand balljoints (which are OEM, but you won't get them at places like Napa or Autozone, special order them online) and don't worry about them.

You probably don't need a drop pitman arm, someone is misleading you.

As darky asked..what problems are you actually having?

could also be that you are driving a lifted jeep... not a caddy
happyfinger.gif

get a good alignment. I am at 5.5-6" in my 89 with stock bar, jks quicker disconnects and no rear sway bar and am running 32's. I have no issues. Check to see that all you steering stuff is tight and your track bar is tight. As stated above caster is what helps keep you going straight/wheels going back and staying in center. Check your p/s gear box for slop. Basically get under the jeep and poke around everything..

I've installed 3 in. coil springs, 2.5 in. spacers and bilsteins.

I need to find a new or "remanufactured distributor as I can hear bearings going....

could also be that you are driving a lifted jeep... not a caddy
happyfinger.gif