• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

SKOOL ME? 242 shifter positions.

Hypoid

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
OK, so I'm a newb to the XJ, and it's with some embarrasment that I have to bend my stiff neck and ask a simple question. BUT, I have been under this shady tree long enough to know that auto makers invent different names for simular equipment, and like names for different equipment. Specifically referring to a '90 Limited, 4.0, auto overdrive, NP 242 TC.

So the question is: when I have the transfer case shifted into the "4-part time", "4-full time" positions, what is going on with the driveline? What conditions warrant using one over another?

2-wheel drive, Neutral, and 4-Low i think I have figured out...:confused1

TIA, Mike

Full time is for use, well, full time, if you wish, on any surface. Part time is only for use on slick or loose surfaces. In full time, the planetary gears in the 242 allow the front and back wheels to turn at different speeds, thus eliminating the tendancy for the TC to bind up as it would in part time if run on dry surfaces (part time locks front and rear together for maximum traction).

4 HI Full Time - may be used at pretty much any time. It's one step down from All-Wheel Drive, you can use it if you're anticipating weather, but it hasn't hit yet. There is a differential in play that will allow the front and rear driveshafts to turn at different rates.