• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Heater Core.... Need Advice

CheechTheJeep

NAXJA Forum User
A couple of months ago, I changed the radiator in my 1990 xj. We swapped to the open system. After everything was done I turned on the heat and antifreeze was blowing through the heat vents.
I put off changing the heater core because I didn't want to deal with it. However, it's starting to get cold out and I want my heat back!
I'm planning on doing the swap this weekend. My library website has a car repair database on it, the data base says I only have to remove the lower part of the dash. Is this true? Any other tips for replacement? Any pictures would be wonderful too. I have no experience with heater cores, so I'm just kinda winging this.

Thanks!

I don't know about the 90 but on my 98 the entire dash has to come out, it's easliy an 8 hour disassembly job. There are couple here who have done in the 97+ models and posted pics. I have been getting whiffs of antifreeze the last couple of weeks, just occasionally and my A/C evaporator is also bad, reaching a point where I think I'm going to bite the bullet and get both replaced while it's apart..

I took the lower panel of the dash off, and it looks like I get can get to every thing. I guess I don't know exactly what I'm looking at, but I'll figure it out eventually. Does anyone know of any write-ups on the swap?

Just did mine you need to remove the whole dash then there are like 6 bolts that go throught the firewall anjd hold the heater box in.. Its a pain in the ass but not really that hard just frustrating

traitor5150 said:
Just did mine you need to remove the whole dash then there are like 6 bolts that go throught the firewall anjd hold the heater box in.. Its a pain in the ass but not really that hard just frustrating