• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I need help - this is driving me nuts...

boostleak

NAXJA Forum User
Let me start by saying that I am not looking for free labor here, just hoping that someone with a trained eye/ear could help me diagnose a problem I'm having with the XJ. Yep, I'm still a noob when it comes to wheeling, and to Jeeps in general. Just thought I'd get that out of the way.
I've got a good low-speed thump coming from the front end, which turns in to a pretty decent vibration at high speed. The thump is audible from outside the vehicle. In addition to this, it seems there is an excess of "road feel" through the chassis at low speed - like you're able to feel the cracks and aggregate in the road a little too much. I'd just expect a little more cushion from the 33x12.5's on 15" rims. One of my two daily drivers rides on 19" rims and 35 series tires, it doesn't feel as harsh as my XJ. I'm willing to accept that some of the harshness could be from the Rusty's lift and the type of bushings/pivots used.
Schwab won't touch the Jeep due to the lift, nor will most of the other shops. I did have Schwab re-balance and check out the tires (Wrangler MTR's), and they found nothing wrong. I honestly thought a broken belt HAD to be the culprit.
My next assumption was that it could be a bent stub shaft, but it seems as though this would be difficult to detect during a simple visual inspection.
As far as payment - I'm willing to kick something down to anyone that could help - a few bucks, or a case of your favorite beer - or the return of a favor via deep discounting on some high-end gear for your house (plumbing, hardware, fixtures, etc... ). The later could work out massively in your favor...