• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Master Cylinder upgrade (post 97 XJ's)

sampil

NAXJA Forum User
Is there a larger master cylinder out there that could be installed with minimal modifications to '97 and newer XJ's in order to improve braking performance?

I read that some YJ's can improve braking using older (70's) full size Ford cars (see link) http://www.4x4wire.com/jeep/tech/brakes/yjmc/

I wonder if a similar conversion exist for those of us.
As long as the volume of the new MC is larger than OEM you would think performace would increase.

I have a corvette master cylinder (early 70's). I had to fab a push rod from 1/4" x20 all thread and used a nut to fix the depth in the booster.

SeanP

Seanp--are you saying you installed an early '70's Vette MC on a late model XJ? And the only thing you had to do was extend the push rod?

yes. I also had to bend and flare the lines that go from the MC to the distribution block. Not a problem once I got practice at doing the double SAE flare.

SeanP

How much bigger is the Corvette's MC versus the XJ oem?
Did it reduced the required force on the pedal?

it;s not about pedal force, it's about moving a greater amount of volume for the bigger 1 ton (ford twin piston) and chevy 3/4 ton (sinlge piston) calipers. IIRC, the vette MC is 1.125"

My understanding is if you get a MC with a larger bore when it is used with stock calipers/drums you will end up with a very hard pedal, but not necessarily better brakes.

which poses the question: Why would you want to upgrade the stock XJ brake MC? Expecially the 97+, stock XJ's had pretty good brakes and were well balanced from the factory. The only reason to swap in a bigger MC is to push more fluid volume into larger calipers.