• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New XJ, no $$$, any Ideas?

Red_daggsXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to NAXJA, just signed up as a member a couple of days ago and I'm looking for some help.

I've never had an XJ but was attracted to them through a friend of mine, and now that I have one I'd like to start building it, but I'm on a tight budget. So what I need from ya'll is some basic advice on the "Have To's" of what I need to do first to get on the trail.

I have a 1996 Country XJ with a basic 3in lift, spring spacers in the front and I think and add-a-leaf in the rear, nothing crazy. The lift won't stick around forever, I'd like to do a 4.5in. or 5in lift, cut off some sheet metal and throw nothing bigger than 35's on, but that will come later once the funds are available.

Right now my idea is to make some quick disconnects for the sway bar, start building the stock front end to be strong enough, and just get some sort of cheap locker in the rear until I figure out how to break it so I can convince my wife I need to get a D44 or better so it doesn't happen again. Also throw on some sliders so I can at least crawl over some rocks without too much hassle. After that what do you all suggest for neccessary upgrades to be able to hit the trail without a major headache?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

And also can anyone tell me why I'd be getting 11mpg? I know i need to re-do the exhaust, it has one of those lame cherry-bomb glass packs on it, but I'd figure I ought to be getting 14mpg minimally?