• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Axel help please

BigDog

NAXJA Forum User
Ok I have been looking and reading and looking til my eyes hurt and I really don't know what to do here.
I have a 89XJ and its as stock as it gets when it comes to anything besides the music. So I'm going from what I have heard and read and thinking it has a d35 in the rear and a I don't know what in the front. I'm not good with all the gear number talks and all that yet but so you know I'm a fast learner.
I have been told that the d35 is week by a few people so thinking I want to go with something better. Have been told before that you can put other rear ends in them besides the ones jeep makes, but can't understand why would want to do something like that. I would rather keep it jeep products in it and just want to know what would be good.
If I change the rear would I or should I change the front as well?
What should go with what?
I'm going to put a 3.5" lift on it I think don't want to go to high YET.
Going to run either 31" or 32" tires.
Please any help in this would be great
Thank you in advance.

you will not have any problems from a d35 with 3'' lift and 31's WITH open differentials. do not lock the rear.

as far as axel swaps, find an chrysler 8.25 rear from a 97-01 cherokee and it will bolt right up, just be sure to grab the driveshaft with the axle. you can tell them apart from a d35 because the 8.25 has an extension on the bottom of the pumpkin with a flat bottom to it.

dont be afraid of the d35, just respect its limits. and its limits to me are 33's and too much skinny pedal.

the front will be just fine up 35's with open diffs, or without a locker.

you will not have any problems from a d35 with 3'' lift and 31's WITH open differentials. do not lock the rear.