• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

XJ shuts off at cruzzing speeds? help!

alcobejo

NAXJA Forum User
:repair::exclamatiplease help my xj will shut off at cruzzing speeds usually when it is at a low rpm or sometimes at a high rpm. but the engine would shut off and rairly it would start up again.. when i start the xj it cranks i have changed my fuel pump and filter and i tested my altanator and battery everything looks rite. if you have any clue of what this problem is please reply!! i am a newb but im gessing it is a sensor that is on the throttle boddy due to my intake and tbs it sounds like it is bogging out ... if u have any ideas please tell cuz this seems very dangerious on the streets.

im sorry i no the basics of a car i meen im not a mechanic but i no a good amount.. what exactly is my tps? and what does the crank position sensor or tps have anything to do with it and would i have to replace them? if thay are the cause of