• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Bumpstops on the cheap

XJLI

NAXJA Forum User
Figured I'd start a new thread to avoid cluttering crazyjims..

I'm just getting into the go fast stuff, but not going too crazy since us east coasters really dont have the locales for real jeepspeed stuff. I just upgraded to 5150s front and rear and the improvement is insane. although my current solid rubber stops leave a lot to be desired...

air bumps are out of the question.. way too much cash and i really think they'd be overkill for me. so, im looking for options.

Lots of people on pirate seem to prefer the timbrens over the polys mentioned in crazyjim's thread for out back.

as for the front, there are a people running the timbrens and people running the jeg's prothanes.

so who has experience with what and what would be the best for provided the smoothest bumpstop experience :D

obviously the ones with the greatest amount of compression would be "best", but the prothane's dont have that measurement available (from what I can see) and also dont provide a load rating (which the timbrens do).

I dont think your gonna get too much of an answer other then you might just have to try it. I would bet the timbrens rebound more then the polys and on the back of a jeep thats really just adding to an existing problem. You are talking about the rear right?

both essentially...

i only found one thread on pirate about the prothanes up front, and the one response said theyre worthwhile. i read quite few people 'blew out' the rear polys pretty quick, then switched to the timbrens with better luck.

Goatman's been running the prothane coil inserts up front for a few years on his XJ. I'll be testing a set out at the dunes next weekend, if they show up in time.......