• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Death of an XJ?

makkman

NAXJA Forum User
At the end of my rope. Currently, My 89 cherokee has a new:
In the past few months:
Clutch
Pressure Plate
slave cylinder
throw out bearing
set of Dueler Revo tires

And in keeping with the spirit of throwing good money after bad:
Crank Position Sensor
copper champion truck plugs
ground strap
Distributor
Cap
Rotor
ignition Module
ECM
Plugs
another CPS
ignition coil

the good news is that i am a Service Manager, and get great deals...
the bad news is that with 2 techs and myself looking at my jeep for 4 days or so... we still have an intermittent spark and intermittent injector pulses.

It kinda started with a clutch job. Job went well, clutch and motor mounts, transmission mount for my peugot piece of 5 speed, and it was great to drive!!!
then one night it started to stall the motor when i got more heavily into the gas. and then any increase in throttle at all (more like spark cutting out than fuel, in my opinion.
Then, on the way home sunday night, It cut out, and has been selective about when it starts since.
For a bit, it would only start with a spark tester in line with the coil/dist cap. Fun, huh?
We've tested continuity from nearly every sensor to the ECM, and found resistance to be good.
Coil, module, and internal distributor are all (now) doing what they should. (Dist. was killing power when plugged in on 1 wire... .4 volts where there should have been 5.)
Today, I pick-and-pulled an ECM from a donor 89 automatic. And i saw the spark tester come to life. for about 5 minutes.
no pulse at #3 injector, where the noid light was plugged in.
Tech went to spray some starter fluid into the intake, went to start again. No spark now.

Please, oh please, oh pretty please, someone put me or my Jeep out of my misery.