• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

cross-member/behind bumper winch mount

spikyhair87

NAXJA Forum User
ok i have searched and only found one thread that has some info and im
looking for more info on the way people have mounted their winches to the
front crossmember area/behind their bumper...

currently i have a jcr stage 3 front bumper and am thinking that i can cut out the front cross member and reinforce it with some 1/8-1/4 plate with gussets or something.. and mount the winch directly to the back of the bumper after i "poke"a hole through (have sort of a rectangle shape hole) for the winch cable and mount the fairlead directly to the front of the bumper...the fairlead "covers" up the hole... etc..

sort of hard to explain... its all up top here... (Mechanical Engineer by trade)... but im looking for pictures/ideas/possible problems...

btw its a xrc8 winch and i do have ample welding skills etc..

Thanks!

Last edited:
That was a very limited stock option at one time. Maybe you could see if your local dealer can print a schematic that shows how Jeep did it.

If you have any questions about what I did, just let me know.

ok will do..

first question would be how do you use the "engage" lever... pop the hood etc or reach from under??

what did you find adequate for cross member reinforcement?? steel size and design? gussets? etc...

did you mount the winch directly to ur bumper??

how did you drill ur "hole" for the winch cable to go throught the bumper??

did you fab up some sort of plate for protection for the underside?

how has it held up to the mud and water??? (i wheel mainly at the cliffs (here in il) and its NEVER dry....

theft protection? (would think it would be pretty safe mounted there but u never know if there are extra precausions taken)