• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Doing my rear brakes today and have ?s

dreher

NAXJA Forum User
So my wheel cylinder blew up on me sunday. Got a new WC and brake shoes and a 30-55,000btu propane heater since its -5 outside and I have a really small unheated and uninsulated garage to work in.

I've never done drum brakes before and wanted to make sure that its okay to spray the s*** out of them with brake cleaner? The side that I pulled was thick with brake fluid and dust from the pads to the point I could hardly see what was in there.

I am planning on having the heater about 5ft away and pointed at me and my work area, should I be concerned about the cleaner igniting in my face?

My plan of attack at the moment is to do the drivers side WC and shoes then pull the Heep up a bit and move it over so I have more room to work on the other side then bleed the rear.
Because my work area is so cramped will it damage anything if after finishing the side with the blown WC and move it over before bleeding it?

I'm sure these are newbie questions but I am a newb and a newb that searched.

Thanks

I have done alot of of work with flammable things around one of those big torpedo type heater (everyone has a different name for them!) and I have never had any problem with anything igniting - HOWEVER, this in no way means its a 100% safe thing to do - you may want to shut the heater off for when you are actually spraying the brake cleaner and then wait a minute until the fumes clear and then fire it back up

Your good to go,except the heater/brakecleaner,thats stuff is extremely flammable!