• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to Jeeps and forum

boostamante

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, just wanted to introduce myself. Im a noob to jeeps and This site so ill try not to ask to many noob questions.

I just bought a 1991 Cherokee Laredo with 200xxx miles on it. Came with slight lift to allow for the 31x10.5x15" tires. Drives ok from what i can tell though it seems to be pig slow on D and 3. I have to shift it down to 1-2 to get her going from a dead stop. Payed 1,300 for her. Also has a steel front bumper amd quick disconnects for the sway bars. found her on CL. Color is white with the red and grey pinstripes. Ill post pics of it later tonight or tomorrow morning.

There are a few items i need to fix as the driver seat is busted. the frams that supports it broke off somehow so i either need another seat or weld where it broke off.
Also, the guy that sold it told me that the right blinker doesnt work due to the steering column being changed. I looked under where all the wires are but couldnt figure out which realy would cause it to not work.
Other than that it drives fairly well for a 18 year old jeep.
My wrenching knowledge-abilities go back to Hondas so im definately not a noob to wrenching, just jeeps. Im located in the Ghetto of South Central so if any of you guys can help out with some pointers or even want to help me with looking at my rig i would more than hapily provide beer and pizza. :p Look forward to wheeling with some of you guys.

Julio

i had to mig weld my seats when i first bought my xj, just slow the wire down and low heat, its quick and easy...

take the track off the seat, and the seat part, just through some leather over it, worked for me....gosh i hope my wife doesnt really like that jacket:eyes::D