• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

engine diagrams?

infocus

NAXJA Forum User
Does any one have tech diagrams for the 4.0 I6, its the coolant lines i am interested in, i have been searching here and the web but really stuggling to find any thing sufficient.

Cheers.

Hope these pictures help

Cooling01a.jpg

Cooling02a.jpg

Cooling03a.jpg

thanks guys but neither quite what i was looking for, i can't really see where the water feeds in and out of the block..

I am new to my XJ and have discovered coolant leaking at the back of the engine somewhere, its very difficult to see as it is right against the bulk head. I am assuming its the dreaded cracked head i have been reading about so much but want to be sure none of the coolant pipes are leaking first...

Hallo Jeeper. On the diagram #1102 is hot and is coming from the thermostat.
What Year is your Jeep?.
Is it with a closed system? Mayby your coolant pressure bottle is leaking.
When not , maybe the heater. :wave1:

The water feeds in and out of the block from the front of the motor. It runs into the block from the radiator through a hose behind the drivers side headlight. Then it runs out of the block at the top where those small hoses go to the firewall. (heater core) If you are leaking coolant from near the firewall, check the heater hose connections at the firewall, and check the heater valve. Part of that "T" connector, if you have one.

Unless you have a pressure leak squirting from a hose at operating temp onto the head, most likely AF at the back of the head is either a crack or leaking head gasket.

You could use a glass seal product to slow it down, but if it's still leaking after, well, time to break out the wrenches.