• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

HELP!! Needed

Brendan_91XJ

NAXJA Member #1163
Are there any electricians out there that can lend me a hand.
I have an electrical problem in the house.
It is one 15A breaker, it doesn't pop the breaker but every thing is dead on that circuit.
I pulled the breaker and checked it, and check the same line in the house using another breaker... Still nothing.

I hooked the breaker back up a little ealier today, and turned it on.
I got a couple lights to come on, when I got to the living room light, I turned that on and it glowed for a bit, now the circuit is completely dead again.

May have found the issue... Some burned wires in a light switch, Look like I may have to rip up the wall to replace the wires....

I'd offer to help but I'm a plumber and electricity is just plain magic to me?????
Hopefully you have conduit in the wall and can pull new wires without having to tear into the walls.

I would check all connections at the recepticals and lighting fixtures. My dad is a certified electrician, and after asking him the question, that is what he said. GOOD LUCK!

We traced everything, from attic space to switches to receps to fixtures.

The problem is the first switch.

We need to fish some new wire through the old routing holes, or tear out some wall to replace the wire.

We traced everything, from attic space to switches to receps to fixtures.

The problem is the first switch.

We need to fish some new wire through the old routing holes, or tear out some wall to replace the wire.

Good luck with THAT!! With all the staples holding the wiring in the walls. You're gonna be tearing out plaster for sure.:conceited Wish I had more time to help out.

You think the wire is stapled to the studs, or drilled through?