• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

please set me straight v.DIY beadlocks

redneckboarder

NAXJA Forum User
i would like to make me some beadlocks.

few questions: is it as simple as weld a ring into the lip of the rim then one with a larger diameter holds the tire on the rim or am i barking up the wrong tree.

i have access to a plasma table with computer guidance how thick should they be and what sort of steel?

im probly gonna go with 25-35 bolts depending on size.

if anyone has detailed pix of your homemade locks post em up

BTW i am a competent welder before you ask

i would like to make me some beadlocks.

few questions: is it as simple as weld a ring into the lip of the rim then one with a larger diameter holds the tire on the rim or am i barking up the wrong tree.

i have access to a plasma table with computer guidance how thick should they be and what sort of steel?

im probly gonna go with 25-35 bolts depending on size.

if anyone has detailed pix of your homemade locks post em up

BTW i am a competent welder before you ask

I believe you need to mill off the safety bead before you can weld the inner ring on.
Billy

I believe you need to mill off the safety bead before you can weld the inner ring on.
Billy

oooh that's how they work. :gee: i could never understand how welding another ring on would do ANYTHING to hold the bead on. if the bead was gone, that would do the trick perfectly. i think.

ah so thats the catch i see...are we talking precision milling or will a calibrated eye and a grinder do?

and does the bead actually rest on the outside of the inner ring then get pinched by the outer bead?